Delhi State Bank Holidays for 2017

Bank Holidays for the State of Delhi for the Year 2017

Genuine List Please click the link below for the original scanned Gazette issued by the Government of Delhi.

Delhi State Bank Holidays for 2017

S.No Occasion/Festival Date Day
1 Republic Day 26.01.2017 Thursday
2 Holi 13.03.2017 Monday
3 Annual closing of Bank Accouns 01.04.2017 Saturday
4 Mahavir Jayanthi 09.04.2017 Sunday
5 Good Friday 14.04.2017 Friday
6 Buddha Purnima 10.05.2017 Wednesday
7 Idu’L Fitr 26.06.2017 Monday
8 Independence Day 15.08.2017 Tuesday
9 Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) 02.09.2017 Saturday
10 Dussehra 30.09.2017 Saturday
11 Muharram 01.10.2017 Sunday
12 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday 02.10.2017 Monday
13 Diwali (Deepavali) 19.10.2017 Thursday
14 Guru Nanak’s Birthday 04.11.2017 Saturday
15 Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad) 02.12.2017 Saturday
16 Christmas Day 25.12.2017 Monday


The following is the list of holidays for Banks for the year 2017.  These Bank Holidays are declared by the Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi under Negotiable Instrument Act.

We observe that out of total holidays of 16 declared by the Delhi State Government two holidays are on Sundays.  So in effect there are only 14 holidays.  Happy Delhi customers.

Please note that these  are applicable for all the banks in the state.  All the public sector banks and also private sector banks have to observe these holidays.  In fact all schedule commercial banks will observe the list declared under N I Act.


Leave a Reply