Bank Holidays 2017 in India

Posted on by Raj

Is today a Bank Holiday? Is tomorrow a holiday for banks?

It may look like a simple question but in India due to divergent religion’s, cultures and customs its difficult to answer. We are just trying to make things easy for you with a single click with regard to bank holidays for 2017 for respective states.
Bank Holidays are common for all, be it SBI, ICICI,HDFC,PNB, Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Canara Bank, these are same for all banks in a particular state.
Authentic information:
We have uploaded the respective state government Gazette Orders. Don’t go by the excel sheet uploaded in various websites. We are committed for accuracy.
Just click on the name of the state for which you want to view the list of Bank holidays declared under the Negotiable Instruments Act for the year 2017 by the respective State Governments.                     


S.No Name of The State / Union Territory
1. Andhra Pradesh
2. Telangana
3. West Bengal
4. Maharashtra


6. Delhi
6. Bihar
7. Chandigarh
8. Chattisgarh
9. Dadra and Nagar Haveli
10. Daman and Diu
11. Delhi
12. Goa
13. Gujarat
14. Haryana
15. Himachal Pradesh
Arunachal Pradesh
Andaman and Nicobar Islands
16. Jammu and Kashmir
21. Jharkhand
22. Lakshadweeo
23. Manipur
24. Meghalaya
25. Mizoram
26. Nagaland
27. Odisha
28. Puducherry
29. Punjab
30. Rajasthan
31. Sikkim
32. Tamilnadu
33. Tripula
34. Uttar Pradesh
35. Uttarakhand
36. West Bengal


The following are the most common question’s for banks customers
With the introduction of Five day week for second and fourth week of a month regular and common man started witnessing consecutive bank holidays. To the best of our knowledge there were ever a long weekend of 5 days for banks in some of the states.

We must remember that general public are not accustomed to use the plastic money. Andhra Pradesh Government has indeed ordered that there shall not be more than two consecutive holidays for financial institutions located in the state of Andhra Pradeshunder N.I.Act, 1881. In effect it means that preceding second and fourth Saturday and succeeding second and fourth Sunday there will not be any holidays. In effect at any cost banks will be closed for only two consecutive days. It is a very important step by the government keeping in view he difficulties faced by the general public due to closure of Bank Branches.

Just a Brief about the history of N I Act for your information.

Section 25 of N I Act 1881, has conferred the right to declare a holiday for banks to central government. For simplicity we are reproducing the section 25 here, but the purpose of the said section is that any negotiable instrument which is due on a particular day will become payable on next day if the payee date is a holiday under N I Act. If a holiday is not declared under N I Act, bankers are bound to open the branches.

For original notification on RTGS and NEFT holidays for 2017 please click the following RBI link

RBI Notification

For the original Gazette in PDF please click the following link

Copy of Original RBI Notification

The following are the list of RTGS Holidays for the year 2017 declared by Department of Payment & Settlement Systems, Central Office, Reserve Bank of India with regard to RTGS and NEFT.

Sr. No. Date Day Occasion
1 January 26, 2017 Thursday Republic Day
2 April 1, 2017 Saturday Annual Closing of banks
3 April 14, 2017 Friday Good Friday/ Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Jayanti
4 June 26, 2017 Monday Ramzan/ Id-Ul-Fitr
5 August 15, 2017 Tuesday Independence Day
6 September 2, 2017 Saturday Id-ul-Zuha (Bakri Id)
7 September 30, 2017 Saturday Dussehra / Vijaya Dasami
8 October 2, 2017 Monday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
9 December 25, 2017 Monday Christmas

With the advent of technology, integration of various bank branches in the country has increased. More and more banks have opened the data centres for opening of accounts and other back office services. Back office work such as account opening in bulk is being handled at data centres or central processing units located at metro cities. Savings Bank welcome kits which contains pass book, cheque book, ATM Card or Debit card and net banking User ID and passworsds are being despatched from central processing centres immediately after opening the SB accounts. Clearing is centralised and cheque truncation system was implemented at all centres. Now the process of cheque clearing is also being carried out at only notified centres. In view of this for continuous banking operation throughout the country we strongly favour the idea for unified Bank Holidays throughout the country.
The following are the list of holidays for Central Government for the year 2017, it will be useful for all Bank Customers if the same is implemented for all the banks in all the states uniformly. We Hope the same will be implemented from the year 2018.

Please note that utmost care was taken while updating the data.  Readers are suggested to check the same with their respective banks and organisation’s.