Bank Holidays for 2017 Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh state Bank Holidays 2017


The following are the bank holidays, declared by the government of Andhra Pradesh for the year 2017.  Further the following holidays are declared under the Negotiable Instruments Act.

Please note the Holidays declared by the Government of Andhra Pradesh are applicable for all private and public sector banks such as SBI, HDFC, ICICI,AXIX, Bank of Baroda, Punjab National bank, Bank of India, Canara Bank etc.,

These Holidays are indeed applicable for all scheduled commercial banks in the State of Andhra Pradesh.

For original Government Gezette issued by the Government please click the following links


List of Bank Holidays in the state of Andhra Pradesh for 2017 Under N I Act

S.No Occasion/Festival Date Day
1 Republic Day 26.01.2017 Thursday
2 Ugadi 29.03.2017 Wednesday
3 Annual closing of Accounts 01.04.2017 Saturday
4 Sri Ram Navami / Babu Jagjivan Ram’s Birthday 05.04.2017 Wednesday
5 Good Friday / Dr. B.R. Ambedkar’s Birthday 14.04.2017 Friday
6 May Day 01.05.2017 Monday
7 Ramzan  (ID-UL-FITR) 26.06.2017 Monday
8 Independence Day 15.08.2017 Tuesday
9 Vinayaka Chavithi 25.08.2017 Friday
10 Bakrid  (ID-UL-AZHA) 02.09.2017 Saturday
11 Durgashtami 28.09.2017 Thursday
12 Vijaya Dasami / Dussehra 30.09.2017 Saturday
13 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi 02.10.2017 Monday
14 Deepavali 19.10.2017 Wednesday
15 Karthika Purnima / Gurunanak Jayanthi 04.11.2017 Saturday
16 Milad un Nabi 01.12.2017 Friday
17 Christmas 25.12.2017 Monday



Apart from the above 17 bank holidays the government has declared the following three festivals falling on Sundays and second and fourth saturdays as bank holidays for the year 2017.  Any financial institution working on Sundays will observe the following days as holidays.

S.No Occasion/Festival Date Day
1 Sankranthi / Pongal 14.01.2017 2nd Saturday
2 Holi 12.03.2017 Sunday
3 Moharrum 01.10.2017 Sunday


Andhra Pradesh Government has declared that  There shall not be more than two consecutive holidays for financial institutions located in the state under N.I.Act, 1881 hence the holidays for the following two festivals were cancelled for the year 2017.

S.No Occasion/Festival Date Day
1 Mahasivarathri 24.02.2017 Before 4th Saturday
2 Krishnashtami 14.08.2017 After 2nd Saturday and Sunday




3 Replies to “Bank Holidays for 2017 Andhra Pradesh”

  1. M Rama mohan rao

    13.03.2017 is Holi for AP people. So please modify Holi from 12.03.2017 to 13.07.2017 to celabrate the festival under NI ACT 1881. Please do the needful


    Govt should be impartial in treating festivals of all religions. Holidays on 24.02.2177 and 14.08.2017 should be restored. The holidays on 26.06.2017 and 25.12.2017 are similar.


    If the government’s policy is not to permit more than two consecutive holidays to FIs in AP, then it should also remove 26.06.2017 (Ramjan), 25.08.2017 (Vinayakachavithi), 02.10.2017 (Gandhi jayanthi), 25.12.2017 (Christmas).


Leave a Reply